top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Book Review: Overcast Sunset: A Brynn Bancroft Mystery - Joyce T Strand


Synopsis:

Brynn Bancroft’s enjoyment at running her former husband’s winery is overcast by a rash of troubling burglaries and her inability to reconnect with her ex. When she receives an urgent phone call from an old college friend, she welcomes the interruption. Unfortunately, the burglaries escalate, her ex-husband considers selling the winery which would sever their relationship, and her friend’s activities impose on her—all combining to plague her with a sense of foreboding hinting at trouble to come.

My Rating: ★★★★

My Thoughts:

I enjoyed this book as it was something different and had a unique story line. It is a mystery with just a touch of romance thrown in. There were twists and turns in the book that I didn’t see coming. I figured out early on who the people/person was that kept stealing things and killed people. Figuring it out early on didn’t take away from the book at all. I prefer to have more into the book before figuring it out.

I found it hard to relate to Brynn though as her character seemed out of the ordinary. This could have been because I don’t know much about her since I have not read other books in the set. I liked how she was willing to see the good in everyone even when she has reasons to doubt them and not trust them. Her old college friend seemed out there, almost a fake to me. Several times I just wanted to smack Madison for being so annoying however there are probably people out there in real life just like her. Liam is a treasure for Brynn. He seemed to be the most real of all the characters in the book. He seemed to care deeply for Brynn and Josh and want the best for them even if it meant he wasn’t in the picture. I liked watching the relationship with Liam and Brynn grow.

This is the first book I have read by this author however it won’t be my last. I am curious to the other books that go along with the Brynn Bancroft mysteries and will look at some of the other books that she has written. The writing overall was great and flowed smoothly. Definitely an author that I will keep on my radar for mystery and suspense novels.

 

bottom of page