top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Book Review: One Final Breath by LK Collins

Genre: Contemporary Romance - Erotica

Book: One Final Breath

Author: LK Collins

My Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis:

From International Bestselling Author, LK Collins, comes One Final Breath an emotional and unforgettable read about losing the one you love and learning how to go on without them. One life. One choice. One love. Sometimes it’s all we get and one moment could change it all. I hate the number one—it haunts me; my every waking moment is a constant reminder of what I lost. One day, I met a guy and I fell in love. He asked me one question…I said yes. Our life was perfect…until one day everything changed. I watched him slowly slip and fade away. The one person I loved, my best friend, my partner, my everything, was slowly dying right in front of my eyes. The doctors said he had one year left; he only lasted one month. As I held on to his hand, he took one final breath and slipped from this world. Leaving me; one woman, one broken heart, one child to show the world to…all alone. This is my story about the power of one... One Final Breath is a full-length standalone novel with an HEA, no cheating, and no cliffhanger.

My Thoughts:

Losing a love to finding a new love!

Faye didn’t know how to move on after watching her one true love pass away from a dreadful disease. She did her best and provided for their son, Braxley. A year later and Faye didn’t feel that she could move on with her life and to care for another person. That would be a betrayal to her and Ben’s love. Thane is going through a nasty divorce with an ex that is addicted to shopping and refuses to get help even at her son’s expense. Jack is everything to Thane and he will do anything to protect him. What Faye and Thane didn’t expect was to have an instant connection that would break down the walls and change their lives. Throw in an instant connection with both of their sons who became best of friends – who could deny them anything.

The story was well written, unique and relatable. A nice change from reading the normal every other book scenario. It will pull at your heartstrings from the very beginning. I can’t imagine having to stand by and watch the love of your life suffer and live their last days. All while having to be strong for your child. The connection between Thane and Faye was so intense. You could feel it jump off the pages at you. Thane is a sweet gentle soul that would do anything for Faye and her son – even if that means giving her space when she thinks she needs it. The characters are so real that you become so invested into them that you feel everything they do. There is intense heat and passion between the two main characters mixed in with romance, sweet children and a crazy soon-to-be ex-wife.

I thought the touch of the boys’ closeness and cuteness added the perfect touch to the story. Who could resist two cute boys? They added some lightness and laughter to a serious and intense story.

LK Collins has a talent and gift to create a well written story. I was not disappointed at all. The only thing I found I didn’t like was the synopsis – I don’t think it was catchy enough with losing a love and leading into a new love that was found. I recommend One Last Breath to anyone that wants to read an intense romance that will play with your emotions and leave you with a happily-ever-after feeling.

 

bottom of page